Girl about town


IMG_4635

I have done a horrendous job at keeping my blog updated lately. I’m just now getting used to the new job, new city, new apartment…you get the picture. But, That’s no excuse to not keep the blog updated so I thought I’d share some things I’ve learned so far since moving from a small town to a bigger city.

Here goes…

1.) Ask how much a haircut costs before you get one

Sounds like common sense, right? Apparently not for me. In my defense I was used to getting my hair cut near my hometown with prices ranging from $12 to $14, which I’ve found out is very low. So about a week after I moved I went in to get a simple haircut – no highlights, nothing fancy. I ended up having about eight inches cut off, but was surprised to find when I checked out that haircut cost me $50. Excuse me ma’am, you want me to pay how much? 

2.) It is impossible to cancel a gym membership

I’ve been told there is a Friends episode about this very subject, but I haven’t seen it. About a month after I moved I decided to join a LA Fitness without looking around. I should have known better when  I first joined and was asked many times if I wanted to sign up for a trainer (for the sum of anywhere from $100 to $500). I firmly said no and went on my way. About two weeks after that I started getting text messages from the head trainer at the gym asking if I had changed my mind. I said no again, but the text messages didn’t stop. At this point I had enough. I called to cancel my membership and was told my only options were to mail a cancel request form to the corporate office in California or visit the gym. I didn’t want to visit the gym because I was still receiving text messages and had placed a complaint. After trying to print off a form I was told that my membership required me to go in to the gym in person. After several days of attempting to cancel my membership, I finally went in to the gym and was able to cancel it.

3.) I have many homes

I love my apartment and it feels very much like a home, but I’ll also catch myself calling my parent’s house/hometown home. For example when a friend asks if I’ll be home for the weekend I’ll usually respond by saying “do you mean my home (apartment) or my home home (hometown).”

4.) Patience is not only key, but necessary

About two months after I moved my car was rear ended and determined to be a total loss. Luckily no one was hurt, but on that specific weekend I had been heading to my parents for Memorial Day weekend. I had also packed the car full of my things including a laundry basket of clothes. Thankfully a police officer was kind enough to not only give me a drive back to my apartment but to also carry all of my things including the laundry basket to his squad car. (Hopefully he didn’t see my bra on top). Although it took awhile to hear back from insurance companies about my car and it was a total hassle, I recognized that the important thing was no one was hurt and everything else was just material items.

5.) Part one: productive Sundays result in a productive week

Although sometimes I’d like to sleep in and do nothing but drink coffee and watch Orange is the New Black, I know I’ll be the most productive during the week if I get some stuff done around my apartment that I usually don’t have time for during the week.

Part two: I can’t stay up to 2 a.m. anymore

If I want to function like a normal human being in the morning I can’t stay up until 2 or 3 a.m. anymore. Although coffee might help for a little but, by the end of the day I’m crabby and need a nap. I need to at least attempt to get sleep so I can wake up early and be productive.

I’m sure I’ll have many more things to add to the list as I go. I’ll make sure to update more regularly, friends.

Until next time,

xoxo

IMG_5005

5 thoughts on “Girl about town

  1. Trying to cancel a gym membership truly is one of the hardest things to do!
    Ugh and staying up past 2am then managing to function the next day…seems like a lifetime ago that this was at all possible for me, ah the good old days!

    I just wanted to let you know I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award! Obviously you don’t have to participate but if you’re interested you can find all the details here…
    http://www.popcornandpolkadots.com/2014/07/inspiring-blogger-award/

    Like

  2. Pingback: Girl about town: revisited | Collecting Conversations

Leave a Reply

